Steely Dan/Can't Buy a Thrill (1972)

An American rock band formed in Los Angeles, CA in 1972 and led by Donald Fagen (piano, electric piano, plastic organ, vocals) and Walter Becker (electric bass, vocals), Steely Dan's debut album (#17 on the US album charts). More pop and song-oriented sound than their later albums. Sophisticated music in the soft rock style, including the elements of R&B, jazz rock, folk rock and Latin music. The only Steely Dan album that includes the songs featuring David Palmer as a lead vocalist ("Dirty Work" and "Brooklyn (Owes the Charmer Under Me)"). Includes singles, "Do It Again" (#6 on the US charts) and "Reelin' in the Years" (#11 US). Produced by Gary Katz.

Can't Buy a Thrill

| Music: S |


Machito/Kenya: Afro-Cuban Jazz (1957)

A Cuban conga performer and Latin jazz bandleader, who fused Afro-Cuban rhythms with jazz improvisation and big band arrangements in the 1940s and became one of the originators of Afro-Cuban jazz, Machito's 1957 recording (Roulette Records). Performed by Machito's big band featuring Cannonball Adderley (alto sax), Curtis Fuller (trombone), Joe Newman (trumpet) and others. Pop-oriented and accessible music featuring Latin percussions (conga, bongo and timbales), razor-edged brass attack and catchy melodies, which is closer to jazzy incidental music of the 1950s US and exotica than jazz.

Kenya: Afro-Cuban Jazz


Haruomi Hosono/Philharmony (1982)

His sixth solo album released in 1982 from his own label YEN Label (Alfa Records), when he was a member of YMO. An introspective synthpop created almost by himself with use of E-mu Emulator I (sampler) and Roland MC-4 (sequencer) and recorded at his private studio "LDK". An experimental album with minimalistic sounds, but it includes three pop songs featuring Hosono's vocals. The lyrics are English and partly Japanese. "Funiculi Funicula" is a cover of the Italian popular song (Canzone Napoletana). "Luminescent/Hotaru" is a track in the Gamelan style. "Living-Dining-Kitchen" is a funky song like Sly & The Family Stone. The digitally-remastered CD was released in 2005.



Duke Ellington/Ellington at Newport (Complete) (1956/1999) *

An American composer, pianist, bandleader and arranger who had released lots of monumental recordings in swing/orchestral jazz genres around the 1930s to the 1960s, Duke Ellington's great live album (Columbia). It consists of live recordings in the 1956 Newport Jazz Festival and studio recordings. The original LP includes five tracks in mono, but the 1999 remastered double CD (Complete) includes the entire concert performance. You can enjoy the live performance of the 1950s Ellington Orchestra's modern big band jazz including bebop idiom in very clear sound restored to stereo. The highlight is "Diminuendo in Blue and Crescendo in Blue" with a tremendous groove feeling, featuring Paul Gonsalves' famous 27-chorus tenor solo.

Ellington at Newport (Complete)


Mozart/4 Horn Concertos (Baumann, 1973)

Includes Mozart's all the four Horn Concertos (Nos.1-4) (Teldec). Considered to be composed in the 1780s and the early 1790s in the order of Nos. 2, 4, 3 and 1, for Mozart's friend and horn player Joseph Leutgeb (Leitgeb). Idyllic pieces making full use of the warm sound of horn, including rondos at six-eight time rhythm called "the hunting rondo", and featuring Mozart's characteristic beautiful melodies with melancholy in lightness. The first recording of all the four concertos with the original instrument, the natural horn (without valves). Horn played by Hermann Baumann. Nikolaus Harnoncourt conducts Concentus Musicus Wien.

4 Horn Concertos


Olivia Newton-John/Magic: The Very Best Of Olivia Newton-John (2001/1973-1990)

A compilation album (21 tracks) which covers all the major songs (including all 15 of the US top 10 hits) by Olivia Newton-John, a British-born Australian singer and actress who had produced lots of hits in country-pop, soft rock and adult contemporary genres in the 1970s and the early 1980s. Includes singles, "Let Me Be There" (#6 on the US charts), "If You Love Me (Let Me Know)" (#5 US), "I Honestly Love You" (#1 US), "Have You Never Been Mellow" (#1 US), "Please Mr. Please" (#3 US), "You're the One That I Want" (#1 US. From the musical film "Grease". With John Travolta), "Hopelessly Devoted to You" (#3 US. From "Grease"), "Summer Nights" (#5 US. From "Grease". With John Travolta), "A Little More Love" (#3 US), "Magic" (#1 US. From the film "Xanadu"), "Xanadu" (#8 US. From "Xanadu" . With Electric Light Orchestra), "Physical" (#1 US. A dance pop in the disco style), "Make a Move on Me" (#5 US), "Heart Attack" (#3 US), "Twist of Fate" (#5 US. From the film "Two of a Kind"), and others.

Magic: The Very Best Of Olivia Newton-John

| Music: N |


Air/Moon Safari (1998)

A French electronic pop duo formed by Nicolas Godin and Jean-Benoît Dunckel in Paris in 1995, Air's first album (#6 on the UK album charts. #21 on the French album charts). Easy listening/lounge music-oriented downtempo/ambient pop influenced by electronic music, Burt Bacharach and Saint Etienne. Retro and old-fashioned sound including moog synths, Rhodes piano, guitar and vocoder. Accessible and comfortable music. One of the masterpieces of the 1990s electronica. Includes singles, "Sexy Boy" (#13 on the UK charts. Used in the US film "10 Things I Hate About You"), "Kelly Watch the Stars" and "All I Need". American female singer-songwriter Beth Hirsch sings a lead vocal on two tracks.

Moon Safari

| Music: A |


Bennie Maupin/The Jewel in the Lotus (1974) *

An American jazz multireedist known for his bass clarinet playing on Miles Davis' "Bitches Brew" and his association with Herbie Hancock, Bennie Maupin's first album as leader (ECM). Fusion featuring Bennie Maupin (saxophones, flute, bass clarinet, voice, glockenspiel) and Herbie Hancock (acoustic and electric pianos), but a spiritual jazz album with ethereal and atmospheric sounds, different from with Herbie Hancock's jazz-funk of that time. Dreamy and impressionistic soundscape, filled with aestheticism and meditative comfort. Produced by Manfred Eicher. First released on CD in 2007.

The Jewel in the Lotus


Mozart/Symphony No.36 in C Major ("Linz"), Symphony No.39 in E-Flat Major (Walter, 1960)

Includes Mozart's symphonies Nos.36 & 39 (CBS/Sony). The Symphony No.36 in C major, K.425 is a cheerful and pleasant piece written in four days for a concert during his stay at count Thun-Hohenstein in Linz in 1783. The Symphony No.39 in E-Flat major, K.543 is the first of three great symphonies of his last ripe years (1788), and a graceful piece with a character like overture (introduction to opera). Classical performances at slow tempo, conducted by Bruno Walter and performed by Columbia Symphony Orchestra.

Symphony No.36 in C Major (


Charles Lloyd/Forest Flower: Charles Lloyd at Monterey (1966)

A live album recorded at the Monterey Jazz Festival in 1966 by jazz saxophone/flute player Charles Lloyd (Atlantic). Performed by the Charles Lloyd (tenor saxophone, flute) Quartet featuring Keith Jarrett (piano), Cecil McBee (bass) and Jack DeJohnette (drums). Avant-garde jazz including free jazz elements influenced by John Coltrane, but accessible music featuring melodic songs, light bossa nova rhythms and a sense of harmony. This album became a crossover hit, being supported by young rock fans rather than jazz fans at that time. Young Keith Jarrett's imaginative performance like a gushing spring is remarkable. The first two title tracks are Charles Lloyd's originals in the suite form. The tracks Nos.3 and 4 are recorded at studio. The No.4 composed by Cecil McBee is a beautiful song like John Coltrane's "Naima".

Forest Flower: Charles Lloyd at Monterey